Tarot Cards - Major Arcana

The Major Arcana are a suit of twenty-two cards in the Tarot Deck. The figures of the Major Arcana are archetypes. stereotypes that serve to help us understand the world around us. Examples such as The Empress who represents our earthbound Mothers or The Devil who represents our darker urges and desires. The Major Arcana tells the story of the Fool's Journey through various stages in life. It starts out with the Fool meeting his teacher (The Magician), his Parents (The Emperor and The Empress) and his Divine Parents (The High Priestess and Hierophant) . He then learns of Love (The Lover's Card) and of War (The Chariot). Now, as an adult, he learns of Justice, Temperance, Strength and Solitude (The Hermit). Now, he suffers some loss (The Wheel of Fortune) and must make a sacrifice in his life (The Hanged Man). The Fool must now travel the the Underworld in order to find his inner self. He must change (Death) and face his fears (The Devil). His struggle includes a tearing down of his old self (The Tower) and leads him to Hope (The Star). He faces his doubts (the Moon) and gains optimism(The Sun). It is at this point he is reborn and faces Judgement and finally he triumphs (The World).

Below is a brief recap of all twenty-two cards in the Major Arcana: